Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) won his 2nd consecutive stage finishing in Uraidla by taking out stage 3 of this year’s race. Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana) was 2nd and in 3rd , it was Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott). Team Dimension Data can be happy with today’s proceedings as Nic Dlamini represented our African Team colours proudly in the breakaway all stage. Once the race came back together, Ryan Gibbons showed his strength, following a dangerous move of Michael Woods (EF-Education First) in the final 2km of the race. With a reduced group of 37 riders coming to the line, Team Dimension Data still had 4 riders represented. GibbonsRead More →

The 2018 season for Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka formally drew to a close following a hugely successful annual training camp in Cape Town from 12-18 November. All 27 riders for the 2019 season were present including a host of new staff that was based at the Southern Sun, The Cullinan hotel near the V&A Waterfront. The camp included internal planning sessions, training rides and wide-ranging partner interactions with the goal to fully integrate our new team members as well as start our formal planning process for 2019. The week also included one of the most special days in our calendar as we attended aRead More →

Fabio Jakobsen (Quickstep-Floors) sprinted to the final stage victory at the Tour of Guangxi today. Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Rudiger Selig (Bora-Hansgrohe) rounded out the stage podium. The 169km stage was the final race of our 2018 season and our African Team were looking to end the year off on a positive note. Reinardt Janse van Rensburg was up for giving the final sprint a go while Natnael Berhane hoped to hang onto to his 10th place overall. Once again, the rain fell on the World Tour peloton for most of the stage, making the sprint finish another nervy affair. Our African Team did wellRead More →

Stage 5 was won by Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott) ahead of Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo). The 212.2km stage, stretching from Liuzhou to Guilin, was the longest stage of the race. The descent of the final climb of the day created a split in the peloton, and the reduced bunch went on to contest the win. Natnael Berhane was in the mix for Team Dimension Data, finishing 8th in the sprint and he retained his 10th position in the overall standings.Read More →

Gianni Moscon (Team Sky) won the Queen stage of the Tour of Guangxi, climbing to the stage victory and overall race lead. Felix Grosschartner (Bora-Hansgrohe) finished 2nd and Sergei Chernetski (Astana) was 3rd. Stage 4 of the Tour of Guangxi was the only summit finish of the race, and likely the GC deciding stage of the race. The 152km stage was mostly flat until a final 3km ramp up to the Mashan Nongla Scenic Spot. A 2 rider breakaway animated the flat roads leaving Nanning but the peloton reeled them in just before the final climb. It was a big fight for position before theRead More →

For the 3rd stage in succession, a mass sprint decided the stage at the Tour of Guangxi and Fabio Jakobsen (Quickstep-Floors) was today’s victor. 2nd went to Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) and in 3rd, it was Max Walscheid (Team Sunweb) The 3rd stage of the Tour of Guangxi was a short 125km circuit around Nanning, and being almost completely flat, another sprint finish was on the cards. As in the opening two stages, an early break animated the first half of the stage but come the final, the race all came back together. Once again it was the same top 4 sprinters of the race atRead More →

Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) won stage 2 of the Tour of Guangxi, sprinting to the stage win ahead of Fabio Jakobsen (Quickstep Floors) with race leader, Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo), taking 3rd place. Stage 2 of the Tour of Guangxi was a 145km journey from Beihai to Qinzhou. While the route was not all that challenging, a torrential downpour didn’t make life easy for the World Tour peloton. An early breakaway once again went clear in the opening kilometers of the stage, but they would only be racing for the few bonus seconds on offer midway through the stage. The break was reeled in 5km before theRead More →

Dylan Groenewegen (Team LottoNL-Jumbo) won the opening stage of the Tour of Guangxi, sprinting to victory ahead of Max Walscheid (Team Sunweb) and Fabio Jakobsen (Quickstep-Floors) respectively. The Tour of Guangxi got underway with just a short 107km stage around Beihai and the flat nature of the parours ensured a fast stage. Team Dimension Data were in the mix from early on as Jay Thomson made the early 6-rider break of the day. With the peloton not prepared to let the break get all that far up the road, Thomson returned to the main group but only after picking up a few valuable bonus secondsRead More →

Toms Skujins (Trek-Segafredo) sprinted to victory from a select group at the Tre Valli Varesine, crossing the line ahead of Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ) and Peter Kennaugh (Bora-Hansgrohe).  The 98th edition of the Tre Valli Varesine was an attacking spectacle that saw Merhawi Kudus and Natnael Berhane both form part of the finale, for our African Team. Kudus was able to bridge across to a select group of 10 riders with 51km to go, the peloton kept them in check though with the gap never exceeding 35″. With 25km to go, the race came back together and then fresh attacks followed. Berhane was in the mix,Read More →

Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo) soloed to victory ahead of Carlos Barbero (Movistar) and Manuel Belletti (Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec). The 23rd edition of Gran Premio Bruno Beghelli was a 196km circuit race around Monteveglio. Each lap contained a short sharp climb creating tough conditions for the day. Early into racing, a group of nine riders made it away. They enjoyed the majority day out in front. The final rider, Ben Hermans, was caught with 22km of racing left. A strong group of eight riders, including Mollema, were in front as the race entered the final lap, and a well-timed attack by Mollema secured his victory. NatnaelRead More →