The opening team time trial of the Tirreno-Adriatico saw the two heavy weights, Omega Pharma-QuickStep and Orica-GreenEdge battle it out with the Belgian World Tour team managing to get the better of the Aussie outfit. Team Movistar rounded out the podium in third. Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung came home with a time of 21’32”, giving them an average speed of over 51km/h. While this may sound impressive it was only good enough for 21st place on the day, highlighting the level of competition at a World Tour race. “It is a bit disappointing to come 21st in the TTT but we are part of one of theRead More →

Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Omega Pharma – QuickStep) won the final stage of the 3 Days of West Flanders after a late solo attack from a select group of riders. Van Kuiersbulck was able to hold on for the win while the remnants of the escape group were caught by the peloton. Danilo Napolitano (Wanty Groupe Gobert) finished 2nd while Danny van Poppel was 3rd. The prologue stage winner, Gert Joeaar (Cofidis) was able to defend his yellow jersey and win the race overall. After losing Gerald Ciolek to illness yesterday, Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung had no option but to go on the attack during the finalRead More →

Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) took an impressive victory at the Roma Maxima today, only just getting to the line before the charging peloton could catch him. Davide Appolonio (AG2R La Mondiale) finished in 2nd and Sonny Colbrelli (Bardiani) was 3rd. Valverde broke away with Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R La Mondiale) 37 kilometres from the finish and was able to open up a 35 second lead on a 12 rider chase group. Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung was represented in the chase group by Sergio Pardilla. Ultimately the chase group would be caught in the final 7km’s by a Team Sky led peloton as Valverde held on to his advantageRead More →

Danny van Poppel (Trek Factory Racing) won the first stage of the 3 Days of West Flanders. The young pro from Holland was able to beat Danilo Napolitano (Wanty Group – Gobert) and Scott Thwaites (NetApp-Endura) into the minor positions. Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung suffered some more bad luck when team captain, Gerald Ciolek, had to abandon the race after suffering with an illness for a few days now. “Gerald is not well now but he is on antibiotics in order to get well before Tirreno,” said DS Jens Zemke. Stage 1 saw an early break go containing 4 riders who would press open anRead More →

Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma – QuckStep) rode away with Peter Sagan (Cannondale) in the final 21km and then managed to get the jump on the Slovakian rider on the final climb, just 500m from the finish. Alejandro Valverde rounded out the podium in third, 35” back. The race lived up to its expectations of being a thrilling a spectacle. With a route that sent riders over 10 gravel sections of road and a number of short steep hills to contend with, there was action a plenty. Punctures, crashes and multiple attacks, the race had it all today and a real resemblance of an Italian Paris-RoubaixRead More →

The Le Tour de Langkawi came to its conclusion today when Andrea Guardini (Astana) won the final stage. Mirsamad Poorseyedigolakhour (Tabriz Petrochemical Cycling Team) finished safely in the bunch to take out the win in the overall classification. Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung will leave the Malaysian race with 9 top 10 stage placing’s, 2nd and 6th overall on the general classification and also come away as victors of the team classification. Directeur Sportif Kevin Campbell sees the race as a success for Africa’s First Professional Continental Cycling Team. “I’m very pleased with the way the team raced over the last 10 days. Finishing as the 1st team andRead More →

The prologue of the 3 Days of West Flanders saw the 2nd year pro from Cofidis, Gert Joeaar, power his way home in a time of 7’53” to take the win and the first leader’s jersey of the race. Johan Le Bon ( finished 2nd, 5 seconds of the pace and Kristof Vandewalle (Trek Factory Racing) was 3rd, 8 seconds back. Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung had all its riders get around the course unscathed with both Jaco Venter and Ignatas Konovalovas recording times of 8’23” to finish 31st and 32nd respectively. Venter was content with his ride today considering he had just finished a course of medication. “TheRead More →

In almost an exact repeat of yesterday’s stage, Theo Bos (Belkin) won the 9th stage of the Le Tour de Langkawi. Andrea Guardini (Astana) was once again 2nd with Aidis Kruopis (Orica GreenEdge) taking the final step on the podium this time around. Today’s stage was quite a bit shorter than the previous three days at only 109km in length. The day’s proceedings were very much the same as the longer stages though. The early break was made up by Yonathan Monslave (Yellow Fluo) and Carlos Quintero (Colombia). The two riders forged out a lead of just over 2 minutes before the chase to bring them backRead More →

Today starts the 3 Days of West Flanders stage race. Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung will once again return to the Belgian race after picking up a stage win at last year’s edition of the race. Racing gets underway with a 7km prologue today followed by 2 road stages over the weekend. Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung will have to go into the race one rider short as Injury and Illness affect the team. Jens Zemke explains, “The team is working well and we always start a race to win. One of our challenges though is we are struggling with health problems at the moment, that isRead More →

The GP Camaiore saw the inform Diego Ulissi (Lampre-Merida) notch up his second victory of the year. The young Italian rider was able to outsprint his 3 breakaway companions to earn himself the victory. Matteo Montaguti (AG2R La Mondiale) was 2nd with Julien Arredondo (Trek Factory Racing) in 3rd. The race got underway with a flurry of attacks but it was only after more than 50km that a break was able to make their gap stick. Johnny Hoogerland (Androni Giocattoli), Daniele Colli (Yellow Fluo), Silvio Giorni (Area Zero) and Riccardo Donato (MG Kvis – Trevigiani) were the four riders who would animate the race up untilRead More →