The final race in the Mallorca Challenge came to its conclusion when Gianni Meersman (Omega Pharma – QuickStep) won the Trofeo Platja de Muro. The Omega Pharma – QuickStep rider won from a small bunch sprint beating Francisco Ventoso (Movistar) and Ben Swift (Sky Procycling) to the line respectively. As in the previous days racing, the peloton started off really fast with numerous attacks in the first hour. It wasn’t until the 41st kilometre that the break for the day finally established itself. Team MTN Qhubeka p/b Samsung rider, Johann van Zyl, was one of the riders that made it into the break  along with IgorRead More →

The penultimate day of racing in the Mallorca Challenge saw the polish revelation from last year’s Tour de France, Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma Quick-Step), take the victory in Monasterio du Lluc. Edvald Boassen Hagen (Sky Procycling) won the small bunch sprint for second place with Francesco Gavazzi (Astana Pro Team) in third. The route today took the peloton up 5 categorized climbs over a distance of 152km’s. The Puig Major, a well-known category 1 climb on the Island of Mallorca would prove to be the deciding factor in the outcome of the race. Summiting just 20km from the finish, Kwiatkowski and Sergio Henao (Sky Procycling)Read More →

Photo: Sabine Jacob Today at the Challenge Mallorca, Sacha Modolo (Lampre-Merida) took his second consecutive victory. Yesterday a photo finish was needed to give the Italian the victory, today Modolo was the clear victor by a few bike lengths. Ben Swift (Sky Procycling) came in second position with Gianni Meersman (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step) in third. The 180km route around Ses Salines provided the peloton with a slightly more undulating parcours in comparison to yesterday’s Trofeo Palma. Seven attackers took advantage of the increased climbing meters today and managed to build up a lead of close to 10 minutes. Emanuel Piaskowy (ActiveJet Team), Pablo TorresRead More →

The Trofeo Palma was the first race of the Mallorca Challenge and it came to its conclusion with Sacha Modolo (Lampre-Merida) taking the win in a sprint finish. The day’s racing was characterized by a five man breakaway which included Ian Boswell (Team Sky), Alex Howes (Garmin Sharp), Alexandre Pichot (Team Europcar), Amets Txurruka (Caja-Rural) and Ronan Van Zandbeck (Cycling Team de Rijke) but the peloton never let them get more than a minutes lead. With the route set over 10 laps of a flat 11km circuit, it always looked like a bunch sprint would be the likely outcome. With just 12km to go theRead More →

In what was an exhilarating race around the streets of Westiville, KwaZulu-Natal today. The South African Road Race Championships saw Louis Meintjes come away with the national jersey. Daryl Impey (Orica-GreenEdge) took the silver with defending champion, Jay Thomson taking the bronze medal. The days racing was hard and fast from the gun, with numerous attacks going off the front in the early stages. After 36km of racing the break for the day was finally established. Jacques Janse Van Rensburg, Jayde Julius (Bonitas), James Fourie (Europcar SA) and Darren Lill (Cannondale-Blend) were the riders that found themselves out ahead. The leaders steadily managed to buildRead More →

Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung will get their European racing campaign underway this Sunday when it takes on the first of the four races that make up the Mallorca Challenge. The Spanish island of Mallorca is a popular early season training ground for many of the professional cycling teams. A number of teams hold training camps around the island this time of the year and use the Challenge Races to conclude their preseason camps. Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung has adopted this approach to kick start its European season as Sports Director, Jens Zemke, explained. “Mallorca has been the perfect place to have our training camp. ItRead More →

Photo: Earlier today the South African Time Trial Championships were held at and around the Moses Mabhida Stadium, KwaZulu-Natal. After finishing second for three consecutive years, Jay Thomson once again took the silver medal, just behind Daryl Impey (Orica-GreenEdge). Jaco Venter finished just off the podium in fourth place. Reflecting on his performance, Thomson was still pleased with how the race panned out, “Today I set out with the goal of riding between 390-400 watts and I think I managed 393 watts. I am really happy to be pushing those sorts of watts this early in the season. Obviously it is a bit frustratingRead More →

This week will see the South African National Road Championships being held in Durban, KwaZulu-Natal. The Championships kick off with the 40km time trial on Thursday, with the road race being held over 180km on Sunday. Team MTN Qhubeka p/b Samsung will once again see Jay Thomson and Jaco Venter lead the team over the coming week with both riders doing the time trial and road race. They will be backed up by Louis Meintjes, who will also be defending both his u23 ITT and road race titles from 2013. Dennis van Niekerk, Jacques Janse van Rensburg, John-Lee Augustyn and Songezo Jim make up theRead More →

Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung completed it’s first race of the season on Sunday in La Tropicale Amissa Bongo. The team leaves the race with a stage win thanks to Ferekalsi Debesay’s strong stage four ride. Linus Gerdemann marks his return to racing by finishing fifth overall and Songezo Jim leaves as the most combative rider. “I’m really happy with how things went,” Gerdemann said at the end of the stage. “To finish in the top five in my first race for over a year is good. I came here to get some racing in the legs and I felt very strong. I was also surprisedRead More →

Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung kept up it’s 100% record of making the break in Friday’s La Tropicale Amissa Bongo stage 5. Youcef Reguigui went on the attack with nine other riders which again survived for the second day in a row. Noticing the threat of sprinters like Reguigui, Yohann Gene (Europcar) and Adrien Petit (Cofidis) in the group, Mouhcine Lahsaini (Maroc) and Bonaventure Uwizeyimana (Rwanda) took their chance of attacking the escape group with 8 kilometres to go. They quickly opened up a gap of 30 seconds which they maintained till the end. “There was a bit of cat and mouse going on in theRead More →