What we've been up to

Latest News

All the latest news and happenings within Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka can be found right here. Stay up-to-date, never miss a beat and be sure to share our stories with your fellow fans. 

Meintjes and Kudus Solid at GP Nobili, Grmay crashes

It was a select group sprint finish that would decide the outcome of the GP Nobili today. Simone Ponzi (Neri Sottli) would be the fastest finisher with Cristian Delle Selle (Team Idea) taking 2nd and Fran Ventoso (Movistar) in 3rd. The race got off to a fast start, so fast in fact that a break could not be established until well over 100km of racing. Eventually 5 riders would go clear but with the finish not all that far away, they were kept on a short leash by the peloton. With around 50km to go, Alejandro Valverde (MOV) would attack the peloton, bridge the gap toRead More →

Report: Nokere Koerse – Danlith Classic

The 69th Nokere Koerse – Danlith Classic was won by Kenny Dehaes of the Lotto-Belisol team. Dehaes beat Tom van Asbroek (Topsport Vlaanderen) and Nacer Bouhanni (FDJ.fr) in a sprint finish after the 199km of racing. The Belgian classic saw a large group of 17 riders escape the peloton in the early kilometres of the race. The size of the group and just the pure nature of the Belgian type classic races would not allow these escapees much room to build up a lead. Under the pressure of the peloton, the break would only get up to a 2’33” lead before they started to crack asRead More →

Malori fastest against the clock, Contador takes the Tirreno-Adriatico overall

The Tirreno-Adriatico came to it’s conclusion today after the stage 7 individual time trial around San Benedetto del Tronto. Adriano Malori (Movistar) was the fastest around the 9km course, clocking a time of 10’13” to be 6 seconds faster than Fabian Cancellara (Trek Factory Racing) and 11 seconds faster than Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky). Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo) had no problem holding onto his blue leaders race jersey to win the Tirreno-Adriatico overall. Despite a good effort during his time trial, Nairo Quintana (Movistar) would finish 2nd in the GC race while Roman Kreuziger (Tinkoff-Saxo) would take the final spot on the Tirreno-Adriatico podium. All the TeamRead More →

Crashed marred finale holds up Ciolek, Sbaragli nets 7th in Tirreno-Adriatico

The 6th stage of the Tirreno-Adriatico again saw some misfortune affect Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung. In a stage where a bunch sprint was all but guaranteed, the African team were confident that they would at least be able to secure a podium placing. A crash on the final corner put an end to all hopes of a top 3 position as Gerald Ciolek and his lead out were caught up behind a heap of Lotto-Belisol riders. Everything was looking good with 1.5km to go as Jay Thomson, Jaco Venter and Kristian Sbaragli were poised to lead out Gerald Ciolek over the closing kilometres. The Team MTN-QhubekaRead More →

Contador stamps his authority on Tirreno-Adriatico

The 5th stage of Tirreno Adriatico saw Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo) blow the race apart when he attacked with 33km of racing still to go. None of the other GC favourites would see Contador again as he went on to take an impressive stage win and also the race leaders jersey. 8 riders would make it into the main break of the day and were able to push out their lead to 12 minutes at one point. Going up the 12km Passo Lanciano climb, which would summit 29km from the finish, the 8 riders would become three by the top of the climb. Ben King (Garmin-Sharp), SimonRead More →

Contador wins, Kwiatkowski keeps the leaders jersey at Tirreno-Adriatico

It was a day for the big GC riders at Tirreno-Adriatico today with Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo) coming away with the stage win. Contador was able to outsprint Nairo Quintana (Movistar) and Daniel Moreno (Katusha) in deciding the podium for the stage. The days racing took the peloton over 240km Italian countryside with 3 GPM climbs in the final 100km’s. The long stage saw 6 riders attack the peloton and go clear inside the first 5km’s of the stage. Lloyd Mondory (AG2R La Mondiale), Matthais Brandle (IAM Cycling), Aleksey Lutsenko (Astana), Fillipo Fortin (Bardiani), Alexandre Pichot (Europcar) and Maxime  Belkov (Katusha) were the riders on theRead More →

Stay in Touch

Please email us on info@africasteam.com if you require more information